Image

Veg Finds I: Agico Vegetarian Cafe

My mom and I are on the hunt for vegetarian restaurants in Metro Manila. Our newest discovery is the Agico Vegetarian Cafe in San Juan. I love the veg-life, and I never want to go back to eating animals, but sometimes I crave for good ol’ burgers. This was the perfect place to satisfy that craving because their veggie burgers are amazing!

Bacon Mushroom Veggie Burger from Agico Vegetarian Cafe

“Bacon” Mushroom Veggie Burger (P276)

I ordered the “bacon” mushroom burger, one of their bestsellers. I’ve had my fair share of veggie burgers, but nothing beats this one.

It was a thick veggie burger patty with “bacon” strips, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, mushrooms, and cheese, on a whole wheat bun, served with potato wedges. It was delicious!!! It’s been over four years since I last had an actual burger or bacon, so I wouldn’t know if it actually tasted like beef and bacon. Whether it did or didn’t is irrelevant because that was a damn good burger. The servings were pretty big too! I was only able to finish half, so I had to ask them to wrap it for me (unfortunately, they still use plastic bags).

Samurai Burger from Agico Vegetarian Cafe

Samurai Burger (P246)

My mom ordered the Samurai burger. It was a veggie burger with wasabi mayo, teriyaki sauce, lettuce, tomato, and cucumber, served with nori chips on the side. I actually didn’t get to try her burger (because I was busy with mine hehe) but I really enjoyed the nori chips. It was a combination of tempura batter and nori strips (two things I love to eat) so it was pretty good.

Cucumber & Apple Juice from Agico Vegetarian Cafe

Cucumber & Apple Juice (P130)

She also ordered a tall glass of apple cucumber juice. I tried it and all I tasted were cucumbers. It was apparently one of their bestselling drinks, so other people may enjoy it (like my mom), but it was just not for me. I’m not a big fan of cucumbers.

Philadelphia Torch Maki from Agico Vegetarian Cafe

Philadelphia Torch Maki (P238)

Lastly, we also split a serving of Philadelphia Torch Maki. It was mock-fish and cucumber wrapped in nori and brown rice, topped off with Philadelphia cream cheese. It was super good!

After spazzing over all of the good food, we took the time to appreciate the restaurant itself. It had a nice cozy feel, with not-too-bright lights, and comfy chairs. I’m no interior designer, but the theme of the place was pretty confusing. It was like a mix of Teriyaki boy (because of the wall mural of animated food) and a cafe/coffee shop. This was an extremely minor part of my experience, and it definitely won’t stop me from coming back here.

Check out their full menu for more delicious food! They also sell Vegan protein drinks and other healthy snacks! I had the full list of the prices and photos of the products but I accidentally restored my iPhone so I lost it all. 😦 The Vegan powdered protein drinks were going for Php 1,200 to 1,800 per tub.

Address: Araullo, Lungsod ng San Juan 1500

Contact Number: (02) 705 1997

Store Hours: 10 AM to 10 PM

I wasn’t with my usual date/photographer so all the photos were taken by me. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Veg Finds I: Agico Vegetarian Cafe

Leave a Reply

