Front window of Macky's Goto, Marikina
Image

Marikina’s Hidden Treasures: Macky’s Goto

I am absolutely in love with the city of Marikina. Macky’s Goto is yet another reason to love the city even more. I’ve read & heard so many good things about this hole-in-the-wall restaurant so my family and I just had to give it a try.

After eating here we also bought the best puto kutsinta in the world from a nearby store. I swear, this is the puto of your life.

Menu of Macky's Goto, Marikina

Menu & Prices as of April 17, 2014. Click the photo for a larger version.

My family ordered the goto & tokwa’t baboy and they all loved it. I got the Sam-friendly version (plain lugaw & tokwa). The lugaw was good, but the real winner for me was the crispy tokwa swimming in their AMAZING suka (vinegar). I was that they actually cook their vinegar mix in a giant pot (I’d like to get my hands on that!)

Lugaw & Tokwa from Macky's Goto, Marikina

Click to pin it!

My cousin ordered the pancit palabok. It looked a little too orange for me but she seemed to enjoy it. I think it’s also possible to order a Sam-friendly version of this, but I’m not sure.

Pancit Palabok from Macky's Goto, Marikina

Click to pin it!

For dessert we ordered halo-halo and mais con yelo. The milk was a bit too sweet for me, but my cousin loved it. The ice they used was crushed and not shaved so it was it was harder to chew(?) but it didn’t melt as fast. They were both good but I was sad to find that there were no bananas in the halo-halo. 😦 Overall, I think I liked the mais con yelo more.

Halo-halo & Mais con yelo from Macky's Goto, Marikina

Sorry about the photo quality! We were all rushing to eat.

 

If you’re not game to be “kanto” then you probably won’t enjoy eating here, but I personally loved the interior and the overall feel of the place. I read bad reviews about their comfort room though, so I would suggest you hold it in until you get home. 😉

Interior of Macky's Goto, Marikina

Click to pin it!

Address
J.P. Rizal Street, San Roque Marikina 1801‎
A few meters before the (San Roque) Our Lady of the Abandoned Church

Directions

From Cubao/Katipunan:

  • Take the Calumpang Jeep (P8 per person)
  • Tell the jeepney driver to drop you off at Macky’s
    • If he doesn’t know or you miss your stop, get off at the Church (can’t miss it!) and walk back

From Marcos Highway:
(I know there is a jeepney route but I’m not sure about it so I’ll just teach you guys the tricycle route)

  • Make your way to Sta. Lucia/Robinsons Metro East
  • Cross the footbridge (to the other side of Marcos highway)
  • At the foot of the bridge, there are tricycles
  • Ride one and ask them to take you to Macky’s (I think it is around P20 for the whole tricycle)

 

2 thoughts on “Marikina’s Hidden Treasures: Macky’s Goto

Leave a Reply

